New Ride Announcement for 1972

By now you should know that the Jumbo Jet is my all time favorite ride. Why you ask? Well because my 1st trip to Cedar Point was 1974 and the Jumbo Jet was what the 1st BIG coaster that I ever rode. Just imagine if you could what it would have been like if the interweb was around in 1971. Hey Al why didn’t you invent the interweb sooner?

Jumbo Jet on the beach at Lake Erie

Opening day Saturday Funday May 20 1972 is the brand new Jumbo Jet! No fancy gimmicks, just an announcement that’s it. Now where is my passport? I feel the need to ride the Jumbo Jet in Beoland? Can’t wait for the announcement 09.03.09 at 09:10am for “Whyte Lightning” 2010! Let’s Ride!

7 comments so far

  1. Andre on

    Wow, thanks for the flashback! That brings back some fond memories for me. Not of that particular Jumbo Jet, but of its sister at Busch Gardens Williamsburg, the Glissade. The first time I went to Busch Gardens I was only 6 or 7 and too small to go on alone, and my Mom and Dad didn’t like rollercoasters, so I could only look at it and fantasize. Finally got to ride it in 1979, and again in 1983 and for a final time in 1984. And then, alas, it was gone, although the slab it sat on was there for years.

    I’d love the chance to ride on a Jumbo Jet again sometime. Are there any even left in the United States?

    • thelostcoaster on

      Well I am glad that I could bring back some great memories for you. So you got to ride the Glissade? As I recall the Glissade and Jumbo Jet were the same ride, however it was minus the radar antenna and sign. If memory serves me this ride was renamed the Tornado and moved to Mexico City, read all about it here:
      ~ https://thelostcoaster.wordpress.com/category/tornado/
      The last Jumbo Jet still standing was the one at Coney Island, however is no longer standing… Moved to China. The only Jet Star in operation is the Jet Star 2 at the Lagoon in Utah. Last but not least get your passport ready, rumor has it that Cedar Point’s Jumbo Jet is in Russia.

      Thanks for dropping by! ~ Jerry

  2. Andre on

    Yeah, the Glissade never did have the radar antenna/sign. I guess because it had more of a toboggan/bobsled type of theming at Busch Gardens, the Jumbo Jet sign and antenna would have been out of place. I think the main thing that stuck in my mind about the Glissade is how futuristic it seemed. Something about the design of the cars seemed futuristic, and I liked the fact that they didn’t have any restraints, so you had an open, airy feel, and it added a bit of “danger”, I guess!

    That electric spiral lift was way cool, too. I liked the way it left the station and then went into the spirals and went smoothly, and fairly quickly, to the top.

    Also, now that I think about it, I might be wrong about the dates I got to ride it. I remember my Mom, her boyfriend, and me going there in 1979. Her boyfriend liked coasters, so he took me on all of them. That was also my first time on the Loch Ness Monster, which was the big draw back then, but the memories of the Glissade still stayed with me all these years. Our school went down there in 1984 for an 8th grade field trip, and by that time they only had the Loch Ness Monster and the Glissade, as the Wildcat (die Wildkatze is how I think they named it) had been taken down and they were building the Big Bad Wolf.

    I think the last year I rode the Glissade ended up being 1985, which I guess was its last year. I remember my Mom and grandparents and me went to Kings Dominion first, but in a scene reminiscent of “National Lampoon’s Vacation”, it was closed! So we found a payphone, called Busch Gardens to make sure they were open, and then drove down there.

    By that time, the Big Bad Wolf was operational, and I remember there being no line at all for the Glissade, so I rode the thing over and over again. Looking back, I do remember having a sad feeling that the Glissade probably wouldn’t be around much longer. So I guess I was lucky that Kings Dominion was closed that day, as it gave me one last chance to ride the Glissade?

    Have you ever ridden the Tig’rr at Indiana Beach? I’ve only been there twice, once in the late 1970’s and again in 1986. I don’t recall riding it. Is it any good? It looks like it’s somewhat related to the Jumbo Jet, so I wonder if it would provide a similar feel? I’m sure it would be tame by today’s standards, but I have a lot of nostalgia for these compact steel Schwarzkopf creations. Back in June I went to Cedar Point with some friends, and with all the giant coasters there, I really wanted to do the Wildcat, of all things! My friends thought I was crazy, but I talked them into going on it, and we all ended up enjoying it. It broke down a few hours later and left some people stranded. Once it was running again, I wanted to ride it again, but my friends were spooked!

    • thelostcoaster on

      I am right with you on the compact steel Schwarzkopf coasters. My favorite roller coaster was the Jumbo Jet at Cedar Point, while it sounds like your favorite coaster is Glissade that was at Bush Gardens. I don’t know if you know this or not, but Glissade is now in Mexico at a park called Selva Mágica and they call it Tornado. (See my post “The Running of the bulls CP Style” for a picture of it.)
      Earlier this Summer I was at Indiana Beach and did get to ride the Tig’rr. It is considered a Jet Star 1 and it is very tame to today’s standards, but none the less a must ride at IB. Another must ride is the Steel Hawg from S&S Power Sports. Get to the beach, Indiana Beach…
      You must get back to CP to ride the WildCat… This coaster is very smooth for it’s age. I rode it when I was at CP back in August. Another must ride.
      What I would give to ride the Jumbo Jet one more time… Let’s Ride!

  3. […] with Jets? When it’s called Glissade. This post is really for Andre (See comments on “New Ride Announcement for 1972“) who feels the same way about Glissade that was at Busch gardens the same way I feel about […]

  4. Jim on

    I the reason Cedar Point got rid of the Jumbo Jet in the late 70’s was because of a serious accident where one of the cars jumped off the track, injuring or possibly killing several riders. I remember reading the story in the Detroit News.

    • thelostcoaster on

      I did not know there was an accident with Cedar Point’s Jumbo Jet. I thought it was with Coney Island’s Jumbo Jet. I thought the reason they got rid of the Jumbo Jet because it was always breaking down?


Leave a Reply

