Bits and Pieces, more revealed…

LOST AND OR FOUND?

Jumbo Jet Sales Card

You wont find this anywhere else on the Interweb, the following is an exclusive on thelostcoaster blog here at wordpress. I have written lots of emails trying to get confirmation on the exact locations of the Jumbo Jet that was at Cedar Point from 1972 to 1978. Where did it go after 1978, for the most part I got a “Gee we really don’t know”. 30 plus years is a lot of time. Cedar Point was really nice to me! (A big thanks to Peggy B, Ann Marie at John H at CP) I got some great information from Michael Pantenburg over at Schwarzkopf.Coaster.net, including that great picture of a Jumbo Jet in Russia. I have gotten copies of post cards showing a Jumbo Jet at Palace Playland.(Still would like confirmation that this Jumbo Jet is the one from CP) I have contacted the Werner Stengel Company and Gerstlauer Amusement Rides (Company’s that were started by people who worked for Anton Schwarzkopf and may have worked on the Jumbo Jet). My best lead was from Gerstlauer, who provided me with an email address of Wieland Schwarzkopf, the son of Anton and forwarded my email to Wieland. After several months of not hearing anything form Wieland, I decided to write to him. The following is the response that I got from him hours later:

Date: Sat, 3 Oct 2009 19:34:32 +0200
From: wieland_schwarzkopf@remove.de
To: thelostcoaster@remove.com
Subject: Re: Regarding Cedar Point’s Jumbo Jet (Jet Star 3)

Hello,
your email is very interesting, because nowadays only few people knows about the JUMBO JET. For detailed infos you should contact Andre Blunck, he is just doing a book about our company, the rides and of course about my father.
As far as my memory is still in function, we manufactured 5 JUMBO JETS. The one from Cedar Points I bought in the early `90ies from a citypark in Malmoe/Sweden and rented it out for a one year operation in Prague/Czechia, after for several years to Poland. In 2002 the ride was totally refurbished and sold in 2003 to a citypark in Nizhny Novgorod/Russia, from there it were sold last spring to a citypark in Minsk/Belarus.

Hope it was helpful for you and good luck to get the rest of your required infos by Andre.

Best regards
Wieland Schwarzkopf

jumbojet

WOW confirmation that our beloved Jumbo Jet was at Beoland in Russia and is heading to a city park in Minsk, Belarus. I have fired off an email to Andre Blunck for more information on the Jumbo Jet and the book he is writing. As soon as I hear something from Andre, I will post on thelostcoaster blog. Missing information is still needed from 1978 to the early 90’s. If you know something leave me a comment and I will get back to you. Or you can contact me on Twitter @thelostcoaster. Stay Tuned more stuff to follow.

1 comment so far

  1. […] “Lost and or Found” Department… In my last major post about Wieland (See post “Bits and Pieces, more revealed”), he mentioned that André Blunck was writing a book about his father and the rides he created. […]


Leave a Reply

