Jumbo Jet’s Layout

This is a great picture of the layout of the Jumbo Jet Roller Coaster. I know this is not of our Jumbo Jet, but rather the Jumbo Jet that was at Coney Island and is now thought to be at a park in China. Perhaps Cedar Point’s new ride announcement coming up in August will be of the new and improved Jumbo Jet that will have the same layout as the original and will take it’s place on the beach were the Extreme Stadium is now. Then I woke up and realized that it was all a dream. Let’s Ride!

7 comments so far

  1. Steve on

    I’ve never ridden a Jumbo Jet model. Worlds of Fun had the Zambezi Zinger, a Speed Racer model, I think. That was the best coaster at the park. The parts in the woods were awesome because you could reach out and hit the leaves. And the turns were banked pretty high.

    While it would be cool to see the new ride inherit something from this, others are speculating a new woodie to recall the Cyclone. Most likely a GCI, though a Gravity Group one would be even better. 🙂

    But let’s modernize the Jumbo Jet.

    It would have to be Intamin, of course. We could use the first set of boats from Shoot the Rapids. Just slap some wheels on them. There’s got to be a way to throw a cable into this as well.

    Use LSMs instead of the electric motors to take the train up the spiral. Though maybe a staged spiral with a couple straight-aways and LIMs would be cool. Sort of like Backlot Stunt Coaster.

    Maybe a diving corkscrew on the first drop. Throw a little Drachen Fire into the mix.

    Overbank the turns around the spiral, but bank them out instead of in. 🙂

    Throw in a tunnel and a water splashdown and I think we’ve got a solid ride. Ooh, since we’re using the boats, they could actually come off the track in the water part!

    • thelostcoaster on

      …and you forgot to mention Maverick’s heartline roll…. We could add that as well. I was thinking of this as well; “Use LSMs instead of the electric motors to take the train up the spiral.” This would make the new Jumbo Jet one sick ride… Let’s Ride!

  2. Steve on

    How could I forget the heartline roll?! I must be slacking. I haven’t looked in a while, but after the ride opened, the ride animation video they had on the site was still the original one with that element.

    I was watching some Drachen Fire videos yesterday. That first drop looked really awesome. I love the idea of coming out of an inversion and continuing down a hill. That’s my favorite part of the Hulk at IOA.

    Let’s get Kinzel on the phone.

  3. rcfcharles on

    I think the 2011 ride should be the original Jumbo Jet that’s at Dreamland. lol!

    • thelostcoaster on

      OMG how cool would that be… I would cry the 1st time I saw it and of course it could only go one place right where DT is. I am ready to ride… wanna go to Minsk Belarus to ride the original with me?

      • rcfcharles on

        what is it, like $13,000 dollars worth of money just to go there?

  4. thelostcoaster on

    I am not really sure how much it would cost to go to Minsk Belarus. I did do some checking on traveling there. First you would need an invite from someone who lives there or pay money to a travel agent that would invite you so that you could get a Tourist VISA from the government of Belarus. Here are a couple of sites:

    http://www.minskinfo.com/en
    http://www.belarussianvisa.com/index.php?country=87

    My bags are almost packed… Let’s go to Dreamland to ride the Jumbo Jet! Let’s Ride!


Leave a Reply

