One final look…

Things are not looking good for the Jet Star 2 at the amusement park Lithuania o Vaikų Pasaulis Elektrenai. One of our favorite Facebook friends Gordonas left us a post with pictures and video of a recent trip to see his favorite Jet Star 2. Seems that the park will be demolished by years end. Hopes are that Gerstlauer would save the ride. (Perhaps an email to info@gerstlauer-rides.de is in order?) Gerstlauer is the company that refurbished ALton Tower’s “Dark Hole” that was renamed the Rocket (see post The Rocket Up Close!) and is currently at a park called Furuvik. Let’s Join Gordonas for one final look of his lost coaster…

Gordonas one final look 1

Gordonas one final look 2

Gordonas one final look 3


**Update** 7:10am 08/03/2013
I cannot stand by and do nothing, so I’ve done my little part by writing Gerstlauer and asking if there is anything that they can do.. What will you do?

From: thelostcoaster@remove.com
To: info@gerstlauer-rides.de
Subject: Soon to be a lost coaster? / Bald ein verlorener Achterbahn sein?
Date: Sat, 3 Aug 2013 07:03:39 -0400

Greetings Gerstlauer,
I am writing your company because of the work you did refurbishing a Jet Star 2 roller coaster that original was at Alton Towers and is now in Furuvik called the “Rocket”. There is a grave situation for another Jet Star 2 that is SBNO in Lithuania o Vaikų Pasaulis Elektrenai. The news is that this Jet Star 2 and the entire park will be demolished by years end. I think that you will agree with me that this original Jet Star 2 needs to be saved. Is there anything that your company can do? Thanks so much for your time and consideration.

Kind Regards,

Jerry

German Translation: / Deutsch Übersetzung:
Grüße Gerstlauer,
Ich schreibe Ihr Unternehmen wegen der Arbeit, die Sie Instandsetzen eines Jet Star 2 Achterbahn kam das Original in Alton Towers war und ist nun in Furuvik namens “Rakete”. Es ist eine schwere Situation für einen anderen Jet Star 2, die SBNO ist in Litauen o Vaikų Pasaulis Elektrenai. Die Nachricht ist, dass diese Jet Star 2 und der gesamte Park nach Jahren Ende abgerissen werden. Ich denke, dass Sie mir zustimmen, dass diese ursprüngliche Jet Star 2 gespeichert werden muss. Gibt es etwas, dass Ihr Unternehmen tun kann? Vielen Dank für Ihre Zeit und Überlegung.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,

Jerry

****************************
Jumbo Jet – Let’s Ride!
thelostcoaster@remove
Cell: remove
Blog:
https://thelostcoaster.wordpress.com/
The Lost Coaster:
Jumbo Jet (Jet Star 3)
1972 – 1978 at Cedar Point
1979 – 0000 at Palace PlayLand, Orchard Beach Maine
0000 – 0000 at ???? Touring Europe
0000 – 0000 at Malmö Folkets Park, Sweden
0000 – 0000 at ????, Prague
0000 – 0000 at Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
0000 – 0000 at Minsk, Belarus
****************************

6 comments so far

  1. gordonas on

    🙂

  2. Ignas G. on

    Hello there! Answering your question… What will I do? Well , I sort of did something already. I already wrote Gerstlauer GmbH some months ago, describing the situation of our beloved Jet Star and asking for help. I ended up talking with Mr. Gerstlauer himself on the phone 🙂 Unfortunately , he is not willing to buy/refurbish this coaster. I was given contacts of someone who might – the answer was the same.
    To my knowledge there are NO plans for demolishing the Jet Star anytime soon , but it is SBNO for sure. God knows for how long. I will actually call the director on Monday and ask for an update on any decisions towards the whole park.

    Have a good day!

    • thelostcoaster on

      Thanks for the update Ignas!

      • Ignas G. on

        …so. I absolutely couldn’t wait until Monday – I called the manager of this park today. What he told me calmed me down a little and confirmed what I wrote in my previous post – currently there are NO plans for demolishing it. There are thoughts , ideas about this and that , maybe a free giveaway for the sake of it NOT being totally demolished(meaning complete loss) , but for survival in any state (refurbishing , exposition etc.)It will be SBNO there for some more time , NO demolition planned. Of course , that doesn’t mean that we should all be happy about it , because one way or another , something MUST be done to this rollercoaster , otherwise that scary word will become inevitable.
        I will go to the park with my pocket camera next week , but only when it’s sunny , so that the pictures wouldn’t look that dreary! Will take a million pictures and send them to you 🙂 And of course , as I told a couple of times , I might go to Minsk for the Jumbo Jet sometime soon 🙂
        P.S. Gordonas , I was told by the park manager that no one talked to him about the Jet Star 2 , meaning you. Please don’t spread unnecessary panic.

  3. gordonas on

    Thanks for the update 🙂

  4. gordonas on

    ok sorry when I was in Lithuania so I called the park’s owners but he huh optagen so I talked to non responders in his phone so do not be mad at me


Leave a comment