Retrospect… 1974

I started this little blog back in May of 2009 with 1 picture and a simple statement “Hello World… Welcome to The Lost Coaster… More to come..”

lostjumbo

This post was almost 35 years after my first and only ride on Cedar Point’s Jumbo Jet. I’ve posted lots of pictures, videos and links of many Jet Star, Jet Star 2 and Jumbo Jet Roller Coasters and I’ve even told you some of what happened on my first trip to the Point!

I have decided to take you back 39 years to my first ride on the Jumbo Jet. I was finishing up my 8th grade at Butler Elementary School (May/June 1974) and it was tradition that the 8th graders would take a class trip before heading to Clear Fork High School for their freshman year. Our trip started at the Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village and then on the way back home we would make a stop at Cedar Point on Sunday. This would be my first weekend away from the parents and could really be myself. Back in those days I was a bit backwards or even awkward and may have been considered a loner.

We arrived at Cedar Point and all ran like dorky kids to get to our 1st ride. Favorites back then were the ones with the smallest waits like the Cadillac Cars, Cedar Creek Mine Ride, The Pirate Ride, Earthquake, Sky Ride, Log Ride, Shoot the Rapids and who could forget the slide? This part may be sad to you, however needs to be told because it is very important to why I rode the Jumbo Jet at all, let me explain…

I found myself abandoned late in the afternoon and decided to head back to the bus, because it was hotter than heck. As I got on the bus the driver asked me if I had ridden all the rides. I said yes, but that really wasn’t the truth. We were all scared to ride the Blue Streak and the Jumbo Jet because of their size. We told ourselves that why would anyone want to wait that long for just one ride? We were lying to ourselves. The bus driver had asked me earlier in the trip if I was “Lester’s Boy”? Oh great, I thought now if I do anything wrong it will get back to my dad!. The drivers name was Bill and he started to asked me if I had rode the Blue Streak and Jumbo Jet. I had not and it was time to come clean with Bill. I told him that no I had not ridden the Blue Streak or Jumbo Jet because no one wanted to ride those with me. The hard truth is that no one wanted ride with me and I had spent most of the day being a 3rd wheel. It’s hard growing up being that kid. I think that Bill kinda knew that and offered to ride the Blue Streak and Jumbo Jet with me and off we went to ride…

First up was the Blue Streak, Cedar Point’s biggest wood roller coaster. I know that we enjoyed the ride, but I don’t really remember a lot about it. As we got off the ride, Bill asked me if I wanted to ride the Jumbo Jet. Unsure I reluctantly said Yes and we headed off to the Jumbo Jet. I did not take this picture, but this is what I saw:

The approach to the Jumbo Jet

We got in line and I remember how hot it was and thought that we would never get to ride, I would surly die of thrust. Since I was with Bill, who the ride op thought was my dad, they allowed me to ride even though I did not meet the height requirement. We finally got the chance to ride, as the train went up the spiral lift hill, I remember thinking this is what I waited for all this time in the heat for, a leisurely ride?
Ed Boxer Rare On Ride 1977
Little did I know how scared I would be heading down that first hill. I am sure that I thought “Oh Shit, we are gonna die!” The Jumbo Jet did not have any type of restraints and it really wasn’t needed. As you went into that first banked conner you were planted into the seat. Same thing when you came off the second hill. In the middle of the ride was the area that one might call “Meet Yourself” and you couldn’t have gotten out of your seat even if you wanted too.
Jumbo Jet in the Round

I remember how fast and loud the ride was and before I knew it the ride was over. My next trip to Cedar Point would be years later in 1984 and by that time the Jumbo Jet was long gone. I want to thank Bill the Safeway Bus driver (where ever he may be) because with out him I would never have ridden Cedar Point’s Jumbo Jet…and this blog would have never happened!

**Note this is my 212th post. Through out the years this number shows up in my life and I consider the numbers 212 as lucky**

5 comments so far

  1. Kay on

    Wow! I find it amazing that you have only ridden it once but it had left such a lasting impression that here you are today with this blog! Must have been one heck of a ride! And to think you almost wouldn’t have ridden it that day if not for the bus driver. Thank you for your post! As I said before, I had never got to ride it but I haven’t forgotten it either, based on other people’s love of the Jumbo Jet back then.

    • thelostcoaster on

      Kay, in my mind Cedar Point is the most wonderful place in the Midwest. This is do to that wonderful Sunday back in 1974 and yes Jumbo Jet was an important part of that day. The entire trip, perhaps changed me a little bit. The first thing I do at Cedar Point is take a deep breath of the Cedar Point air and I am transformed back to that special day in 1974 for just a moment… Maybe we need to pack our bags and head to Minsk Belarus to ride the Jumbo Jet, you for the first time and me to bring more memories to the surface! Let’s Ride! Thanks Kay for reading and enjoying my little blog!

  2. Kay on

    I just so happened to have checked back here yesterday before I got your message. Thanks for informing me about the new blog post! The original CP Jumbo Jet may unfortunately be too far for the quest but if I ever get back to France I really want to make Luna Park Amigoland a part of the itinerary. I just hope it’s not gone by the time I could go. Is it really the same as the one from Cedar Point? It sure would be cool to ride the one that actually came from Cedar Point.

    • thelostcoaster on

      Hi Kay!
      Yes the Jumbo Jet in Amigoland is just like Cedar Point’s Jumbo Jet. Under categories make sure to click on Amigoland to see all our posts on that Jumbo Jet. Thanks so much for reading my little blog. I hope you will be back.. ~ TLC

  3. Kay on

    I sure will be checking back- It’s great that you’re keeping a tab on all things happening with the Jumbo Jet!


Leave a comment